Solid second

November2009 046

Its difficult to get back into things that you have put aside for a while… perhaps even more difficult than starting anew, so I’m going to, after this sentence, pretend that I haven’t not been blogging for the past 3+ months.

It seems as though things are finally coming to a settling point after a busy summer that just bled into fall. A model for the social housing competition kept that to-do on my list long after the official win. Apparently when you win things it means you have to do more work. I will be reconsidering the goal of winning things.

Second place seems to be a nice comfy spot for me though. In addition to the design competition, my rowing crew won second in our last two races of the season. Even though the days are too short now to row during the week, we put together an 8 about 7 weeks ago and we’ve been training pretty intensively since then. This past weekend we raced in Seattle  and a few weeks ago we had 2 races in Victoria. All three got us 2nd place.  Getting back into rowing has given me another look at the city, both from the water and through people who aren’t students trapped in the architecture building at UBC. I’m really liking the women I row with and comradery of the club. It can get pretty sentimental and sappy (refer to previous sentence) when you have all that adrenaline running through your body, but none the less.

I’m thinking of taking up fly fishing though I’m not sure where my startup funds will come from. There’s a sport that has no winning, except belly filling winning and its just one more thing to do in the beautiful outdoors that doesn’t involve too much potential for me getting hurt.

0 Responses to “Solid second”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




When we wrote

November 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Snapshots